i love Bob Marley. The song Three Little Birds has been a companion of mine for a few years. When I think that the world is going to heck in a handcart I start singing this song to myself. It never fails to lift my spirits and give me hope even in my darkest times. 

Today I’m reminded of what a little faith can do. In 2003 I divorced and in quick succession I was laid off. Taking a 20,000 per year cut in pay I pulled up my big girl panties and made magic happen in my budget. Then a few well timed wind falls came my way and every little thing was all right. 

Tomorrow my youngest daughter will graduate from Oregon State University. Today Nike made her an offer she can’t refuse. Monday my oldest daughter starts as the morning producer for KATU a local news channel. My cup overfloweth. 

I remember in the dark times worrying that college would not be possible or that jobs will be scare or that I hadn’t modeled enough strong, capable behavior for them to take on the world. While I take nothing away from their own deeply held fierce determination and strong capabilities (stuff I can marvel at and hope to emulate) I do feel a sense of pride in what things I did to help them reach this peak. There will certainly be more peaks and more valleys for them, but they seem well equipped and strong to fly through. 

I love the words of Kahlil Gibran regarding children. 

You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth. 

The archer sees the mark upon the path of the Infinite, and He bends you with His might that his arrows may go swift and far. 

Let your bending in the archers had be for gladness. 

For even as he loves the arrow that flies so He also loves the bow that is stable. 

It’s been my privilege to usher these two toward adulthood. Now I have the privilege of watching their arrows fly far and wide. 

