I’m not quite sure what these days mean anymore. We’ve come through a rather untidy election on a side I feel comfortable with. That was a wild ride whose ending happily makes me happy this time. Next time, I’m not so certain of the outcome.

Now this? Another set of violent random shootings. One here in my home state. Another painful reckoning. Another day after. We fear the terrorists outside our borders while we blindly ignore the “rights” of the ones inside. Why is our culture so addicted to guns? Why is there a discussion of arming teachers in the classroom Why would ANYONE find that to be an acceptable solution? Why is there a ranking list for deadliest school shootings? Can someone tell me why there is more than one?

More disturbing to me is the gun rights pundits who adopt this terror attack as a poster child for their version of liberty. To scare you into believing that government jack booted thugs will arrive at your door and take your gun if you don’t believe in their version of liberty.

I have all the liberty I need and more and I don’t carry a gun. And it’s not because you have or carry a gun that you or I are free. It’s because we have a governing set of principles that allows us to speak freely and elect our officials by the rule of the majority. Not because you can shoot a bottle off of a stump.

I’ve inserted myself into situations that would have had a tremendously different outcome had I been carrying a gun. I stopped a big Samoan teenager from slapping his girlfriend around just by getting in his face I’ve made rowdy swearing tough teenagers leave the train because young children were sitting right next to them and they couldn’t contain their language or their behavior. Just imagine if they had a gun, or I did. The ending would have been very different.

The worst offender of them all? The people who want to tell you that drunk drivers and cars are like mass murderers with guns. Nope, not even close. When is the last time you heard of a drunk driver who went out and drove into a theater or a mall or a school with the expressed purpose of killing someone? Never? Thats right, because drunk people are addicted to alcohol and do stupid murderous things. Mass murderers have a plan and they use guns because they are portable and effective and can be used in a pre-meditated crime easily.

So if guns can be equated to cars? Let’s license every single one of them and make every person that owns one buy insurance for it and take a class to get a license. If they can’t pass the test? No license? No gun Oh wait you say, we don’t want that! Then please stop using that weak, stupid argument. People with guns kill people. Frequently.

Its unthinkable that we, as a civilized nation, cannot come to a agreement to make our society a safer place without having a gun in the equation. Have we learned nothing from the nuclear arms race? Making more missiles made us less safe, not more. We are addicted to some sick Hollywood simulacrum of the wild west made to fit into a gangsta rap video. I only hope we grow up soon.

