It’s that time of year again. The time where I feel a bit more overwhelmed than usual. There is a difference though. Instead of mercilessly pushing myself to keep up, I’m drawing a line in the sand for myself and staying on the saner, quieter side. This does not mean I’m missing out on anything. I’m just giving myself lots of introvert schedule padding to keep me from becoming a live action installment of Edvard Munch’s The Scream. So far so good. No meltdowns.

I’m re-examining the budget again. I’ve had a fun year of traveling and doing fun things and buying cool stuff while my kids were out of the house. Surprisingly having a little extra money means that I can indulge myself in some good stuff and some silly stuff. But once again I feel like I’m filling any momentary lack of feeling good with STUFF. It may be high quality stuff, but it’s still stuff.

I’m going to try again from Jan 1 on to only replace broken things and worn out stuff. Worn out stuff includes that jacket I bought 15 years ago which isn’t what I wanted/needed and has the delightful added benefit of making me feel like I want to flay myself alive because it itches. But it was on SALE if you must know.

It will also include me going to sell a few items on Craigslist. While that terrifies me, I really need to.

I want to get back to yoga. Write something on the blog weekly. And, get my closet in order with things that fit, look good and don’t itch me.

I also want to have a massage once a month to reduce my back pain even more.

I want to actually learn how to play the ukulele.

Keep my workouts to 5 or 6 times weekly.

There you have it. The beginnings of a plan to make life simple, healthy and sweet.

Also. If a really big rock fell on my neighbors RV. I would not be sad.

