There isn’t anything in a girls closet that is quite as satisfying as a good pair of boots. Except for maybe jeans that fit well, a good coat, well you get the idea. For a long time now I’ve been good at shopping for things that fit, don’t ride up, last longer than one season and are age appropriate. It’s a tall order for sure. I have a good pair of brown boots. I also have lots of black clothes and the whole dilemma of brown and black worn together seems so trite. Still, I’m not sure if it’s a fashion do or don’t.

Why does this matter when the impending disaster of Sarah Palin running for Prez in 2010 looms large (I tell you that woman scares the crap out of me). It matters because I was attempting to score a pair of black boots before I go into self imposed austerity mode next year. I’d like to be more helpful with college for my kids. I’d like to visit Spain when oldest daughter does her time abroad. I’d like to pay down the Prius debt and do a little traveling myself.

These are not things that can be done (by me anyway) when you are spending money on clothes and lattes. OK I don’t typically buy a latte, usually tea, and a scone.

I think I can do this well. I think.

I shopped for black boots at Macy’s yesterday and everything I liked was out of my size. Sadly the black boots may have to wait for awhile. Still sorting out in my head how the austerity measures should work. Me and the European Union.

I made quince bread yesterday, from a recipe that required nearly 2 1/2 hours of baking between roasting the quince and actual baking time. Don’t forget the full cup of oil required. It’s lovely stuff. You just need to be very careful how much you eat. It has fresh rosemary and lemon zest in it. And corn meal. And a LOT of oil.

I think I’ll go toast a little for tea.

