Family means a lot of things to a lot of people. For some it’s a comedy for some it’s a tragedy. For me it has begun to seem like the final scene from Parenthood, where Steve Martin realizes that it is all one big roller coaster ride. You buys your ticket and you takes your cherce was the saying we had in our family growing up. Take the good with the bad.

It’s been mostly good. An easy coaster, no death defying loop de loops. Still I have to come to terms with having people in my space who don’t do things the same way I do, and let it go. Yes Dad, I mean you setting the thermostat above 70 all day???????

The other side of it is being with people who know you, and love you, most of the time. Also watching my daughter tell Wonder Sweetie that she calls him Step Dad while away at college. A major break through. Listening to that sent me off to bed (late) with a smile on my face. I woke up from a dream because I was laughing in it. Not something that normally happens.

I’m off to ride the roller coaster a few more times. See ya on the next go around?

