I left work completely exhausted, yet revved up for Madrona Fiber Arts Fest and it’s no accident that this link takes you to the marketplace. While in no way the most important part of the festival, it totally rocked.

I spent last Thursday, Friday and Saturday in the company of my knitting friends. JustJen and I roomed together, which was a perfect match.

Here is a picture of the Gang of 4 (or 6 or 8 or 10 depending on class time).
Madrona Chain Gang 1

Madrona Gang 2

One day we arrived before everyone else and had a good time laughing at the fact that it appeared as though Jen and I had spent the night at the table. That’s Jen, KT, Nicole, Lisa and Judy Becker, Judy Becker (it sounds so good when you say it twice).

Spent a fair amount of time in the Blue Moon booth, visiting Etta Mae and Cockeyed. Always a a lot of fun going on there!

Here are my purchases. First off let me say I had no idea what a good spindle can do for you. The Bosworth I purchased from Ask the Bellwether was quite the revelation as it spun and spun and spun long past the other spindles (does that sound like a 70s commercial or what). It’s the ridge on the outside of the whorl that gives it the weight it needs to be productive.

Bosworth Spindle + Yummy

Neat huh? The fiber is some cashmere and silk I made a three ply from on the spindle. That is Abstract Fibers Mossy Rock. Rounding out the group are two balls of Fat, Fun and Fulled yarns from Judith’s class. They haven’t had their soak yet. Just plied and rolled into a ball, but fatter than anything I’ve ever spun, and using a new technique.

And the icing on the cake?
Macomber Loom

What shall I cook up next?

