The family has shifted into a new mode of being in the last two weeks. Lots of upheaval and changes that make for an interesting roller coaster ride a la Parenthood (the movie). I told my college girl that the first two weeks would fly by and the third week everyone would realize they were actually in New York. At school. To stay. The youngest has realized that her sister is no longer the social director for her high school cruise and she isn’t sure how she makes friends..

I realize what I thought I knew about parenting has been blown to kingdom come. It has new dimensions and an amorphous shape.

It’s held together with tears, chocolate, sanitary napkins and Skype. And just when I think I am stretched to the maximum and cannot possibly hold anymore, the drama evaporates into laughter and tears. I think everything will be ok. Skype totally kicks ass by the way.

