Back in one piece from New York. My daughter is alternately ecstatic and freaked beyond all reckoning with her.

I cried once, briefly when I left her, then shamefacedly had to call her to let her know I had left my scarf. There was no sign of fighting. We had a lovely time. Also got to see Billy Elliott on Broadway and relax for a few days after we dropped her off.

I wish there was someway I could put a future mirror up to her to show her the wonderful person she is becoming and has become. She’s a pretty awesome kid. I can’t though, because she’s got to go through this hard part of emerging from this world and making herself at home in the new one. It will happen, but it’s really tough going for awhile. My Mom heart doesn’t wish to see her suffer, my parent heart knows she will.

Stay tuned.

