If you have read the book “The Five People You Meet in Heaven” you might recognize the title. It’s a lovely book, although there are many who would disagree heaven even exists, let alone get to party with your peeps one last time. I think it sums up what I’ve been trying to keep at the fore front of my life. Shit happens, lives change, things change. There is so much bitter and so very much sweet if we would only look for it, and recognize it when we meet it. So many times our experience doesn’t meet or match what we think should or must be. Yet we fight so hard to keep it. Hopefully one day we just let go and fall into something new and difficult. It’s the holding onto the relationship, possession or idea that has caused so much pain. I’m trying to help my kids move on, but it’s hard with so little life experience under their belt.

Wish me luck in the coming weeks and months as we work toward jobs and college and fraying of ties and binding up of new ones. When I see the power of a little twist in fiber I know we can be stronger in the broken places. In twisting we sometimes face a different direction and can see things a little more clearly.

I’m very grateful for my new job and for being 51 and healthy and for my friends and the time I get to spend with them just laughing and talking. It doesn’t get much better than that.

